Sixer

I almost drank today.

I wanted to SO badly.

I have two beautiful bottles of wine left in the house and they sound like the perfect week-cap; a needed escape from an emotional, pity-party kind of day.

Instead I’m slamming Nerds and Laffy Taffy and drinking tea like I’ll win a prize for finishing whole pots in lightening speed.  Funny.  I thought I’d lose weight if I quit drinking.  I guess I’m replacing brain-happy booze with a sugar rush.  We addicts seem to love to be in torturous contention with something…  I myself have moved thru bulemia, OCD, extreme exercise and, of course, alcohol.  None of it fixed what was really broken though.  They were just all consuming diversions; metaphorical swimsuit cover-ups so people couldn’t see my bared and apparent imperfections.

It’s been a rough day, but in spite of almost popping a cork, I’ve made it six days.  And for that I’m thankful.

Leave a Reply

